What's new

Soap and Wax Plumbing

wrightwash

Reaction score
My soap and wax lines feed into a tee right after the y-strainer exiting a gravity tank on my pump stand. I have a 1/2" line run from the tee to the inlet on each pump (Cat 310). I have to choke the line exiting the tank right now to get a good suction on the soap/wax. Would I get better suction if I moved the tee for the chemical lines to the inlet of the pump? Does anyone have a similar setup they could show?

MEP001

Reaction score
It's not unusual to have to partially close the ball valve. Moving the tee to the pump may help, depending on the length of the hose. Adding this check valve puts just enough restriction on the water line without causing any issues. I've been using them for 20 years and haven't had any fail.

cantbreak80

Maybe I need new clubs
Reaction score
You might take another look at the way I plumb them...from Your Previous Thread

1/2" poly braid hose from the rinse water tank with a wide open ball valve for servicing.
1/4" LLDPE tubing from the soap and wax tanks to a "Y" fitting (PISCO, SMC, John Guest) on the other inlet port.

Now, I must add...my rinse tanks are at the same level as the pump mounting rails while the soap & wax tanks are elevated 3'-4' above the pump stand. I've never had issues with soap/wax suction and never have to throttle the water supply valves.

If your soap/wax tanks have additional capacity you might just try raising the Hydrominder floats and fill them up. Lowering the rinse water level might help, too...as long as you don't starve the pumps.

But, there's nothing wrong with throttling...or using MEP's check valve. Just don't cavitate the pumps. Close the ball valve until the pump starts "rattling" and then crack the valve open until the rattling stops. I've done it many times rather than replumbing the entire system.

wrightwash

Reaction score