What's new

Polytubes Keep Busting!!??

wASHN4FUN

Reaction score
I have one bay in particular that keeps busting tubes, day after day. The pressure is the same in all my bays, as far as I can tell...any ideas?:confused:

2Biz

Thread Killer!
Reaction score
More information would be helpful. Like which Polytube? But my guess would be a failing CV between the polytube, manifold, and the HP hose.

wASHN4FUN

Reaction score
This may sound stupid, but......where can I get a schematic,diagram of your typical lay-out for my car wash (self serve). It kind of looks like the previous owner may have done away with the separate engine cleaner (chemical) and uses the tire cleaner for both. Which means that I have more solenoids, hoses, & connections than I need. I don't know, but it would seem easier to have a jumper wire on the switch for the same system, right. Where all should I have check valves. Please keep in mind I am completely new to this business, but can be easily taught. Thank you!

bighead

Reaction score
its been my experience consistently breaking poly tubes = check valve stuck shut somewhere not allowing flow through.

(EDIT: what 2biz said basically, sorry didn't read it all)

Earl Weiss

Reaction score
As stated #1 Suspect is a bad Check valve. #2. Any noticeable difference between the tubes for this and the other bays? Is it possible the others were replaced and this was not?

MEP001

Reaction score
Since it's just one bay, it's probably the check valve(s) at the boom that is meant to keep the high-pressure out of the low-pressure lines.

It's unlikely that it originally had a separate tire cleaner and engine degreaser system. If there are extra lines that don't connect to anything, someone probably replaced broken lines and just left the old ones.

2Biz

Thread Killer!
Reaction score