What's new

Cryptopay for Unitec Wash Select

mac

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
3,453
Reaction score
698
Points
113
Little follow up. Replaced the swiper and the issue went away. Don’t know how much I lost in business, but it was a lot more than the swiper cost.
 

AutoSpaMobMO

Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
46
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Just got my two Cryptopay retro kits for my Wash Selects. Kinda pissed off that they don't provide the new lexan face like they had advertised. Went back and watched their video on their website today. The very first video goes through all the components that are included with the kit, specifically new Lexan faceplate which looks beautiful. Second video describes installation of the new Lexan faceplate....oh but wait...they added a slide in the middle of the installation that lets you know you'll now receive a decal instead. How informative. Decal seems less than impressive. Pretty flimsy, nothing heady duty or impressive about this thing. I'd pay extra for the Lexan.

Shame on me I guess for not reading all the fine print for changes since I last read it all.
How are you liking your Cryptopay retor kits. I am closing next week May 26th on my first wash and the current owner added cryptopay to his wash selects a year or two ago. I was curious if you are liking them or not and if you would do it again?
 

GoBuckeyes

Self-Serve and Automatics
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
869
Reaction score
154
Points
43
Location
Cleveland
How are you liking your Cryptopay retor kits. I am closing next week May 26th on my first wash and the current owner added cryptopay to his wash selects a year or two ago. I was curious if you are liking them or not and if you would do it again?
[/QUOTE

AutoSpa, I wish I could tell you. They haven't been installed yet for several reasons. First, Worldpay just got my account set up last week. Second, April was incredibly busy and I didn't want to get rushed trying to install and work out any bugs. In the meantime, I have purchased and am waiting on two used Wash Selects and am hoping to upgrade those doors for a quick, simple swap out. Once I get them installed, I will post my experiences and some pictures.
 

AutoSpaMobMO

Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
46
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Good Luck! I hope that the install goes smooth for you! Looking forward to updates.
 

GoBuckeyes

Self-Serve and Automatics
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
869
Reaction score
154
Points
43
Location
Cleveland
Finally got my WS doors swapped out with the two used ones I bought and changed to Cryptopay. I have to say, so far so good. I’m kinda shocked right out of the gate that the Tap’n Pay is running about 20% of card purchases.

The GoGreen receipts are a bit wanky. The website doesn’t work from your phone, at least mine. You can pull it up but you can’t input the needed data because I don’t believe it’s formatted properly. They work fine from my desktop although when I tried to get a receipt for my Apple Pay purchase its not possible.

Installing the decal is by far the hardest part. Fairly flimsy with lots of cut outs to try to line up if you want it to look good. Overall, for the cost and effort I’m happy. Hopefully they continue to operate just as they have been.
 

Attachments

quackers

New member
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Location
Kansas City
Is anyone ever having an issue with their wash select II / cryptopay where customer selects wash/swipes card and it comes back with "Sale Approved" on the screen but doesn't start the wash? We've had cryptopay for about 7 years and we have a couple of pay stations out of 9 wash select II's with cryptopay on them that every once in a while this problem shows up. We've never been able to pinpoint the exact cause working with Unitec, Crytpopay or our local distributors yet. Sometimes it happens when a customer either doesn't fully get the wash package button pushed or doesn't push it at all or button is broken and that is a simple fix to replace the broken button or push a wash package and it'll start. This is a little different, sometimes the screen will say sale approved and then it might flicker "Add $1.00" or "Add $2.00". If you select a cheaper package than what the customer has selected it will usually start the wash. if we're standing there we usually will just issue the wash from the UCC and the pay station will be frozen still in that state. It usually remains that way for 15 minutes or so without a power cycle to reset it. But if you press a cheaper wash package button it'll usually start the wash so it has received some amount of $1 token coin pulses from the reader just not all of them to start the package selected by the customer. Essentially the swiper seems to think it has sent all pulses through but the pay station only is receiving 15 out of 16 or 17 out of 19 for example on a $16/$19 priced wash. We've tried replacing mother boards in wash select II's, replacing buttons, replacing memory chips, re-wiring card reader wires to make sure they aren't loose, unplugging and re-plugging ribbon cable from display board, swapping out with new ribbon cables, swapping out with new card reader swipers. We are in the KCMO region and have spoke to others locally who've experienced the same symptoms. Sometimes they show up and go away on own or usually through the various changes we've made they go away for a while. It doesn't seem like there is 1 rhythm or reason why this happens but starting to think it has something to do with connections of cryptopay wires to the paystation connector pins and cycles of hot cold where it goes from 90s to 50s and maybe expansion/contraction of the parts. Doesn anyone else have any experience with it?
 

mac

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
3,453
Reaction score
698
Points
113
It sounds like you have done all the troubleshooting that I can think of. This is a real headschrater. Please let us know how it goes.
 

1carwash1

Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
149
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
east japip
Just throwing out an idea. Is your pre authorization set higher than your most expensive wash?
 

APW

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
816
Reaction score
316
Points
63
Location
South
Just throwing out an idea. Is your pre authorization set higher than your most expensive wash?
Mine is set the same as the top wash ($20). It has been 2 weeks since it has done it. Weird that none of my other wash selects do it, just the one.
 

quackers

New member
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Location
Kansas City
Just throwing out an idea. Is your pre authorization set higher than your most expensive wash?

Yes, our pre-auth has been set to $20 for years now and we did not update this at all. We did recently make price changes to our packages.
 
Last edited:
Etowah

quackers

New member
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Location
Kansas City
Unitec support saw this post and reached out to us (thanks Julie). They suggested we strip back / re-land all 6 wire connections to the J1 & J3 power and I/o display board green plastic phoenix connectors which is a new suggestion we have never tried. Theory is overtime some of them may have become loose from vibration of door open/closing, dirty etc causing inconsistent power between the main cpu mother board and display I/o board on the door especially with big temp swings. We have only done this with the pins on those connectors that the 3 Cryptopay wires land on previously. Cryptopay did say once a couple years back that it seemed like the reader was losing power briefly during pulse cycle. I guess if we have some power loss between cpu board and I/o board that could make sense. Maybe it’s so slight as just a screen flicker you may not notice. Unitec did say we’ve got to have good consistent power to the display I/o board on door and consequently the Cryptopay swiper which wires into j1/j3 connectors. We don’t have any of the Hamilton’s but I imagine it could be something to try on those as well. So we did this today and we’ll report back after letting it run a while. Pic attached to try and help illustrate.
 

Attachments

APW

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
816
Reaction score
316
Points
63
Location
South
Unitec support saw this post and reached out to us (thanks Julie). They suggested we strip back / re-land all 6 wire connections to the J1 & J3 power and I/o display board green plastic phoenix connectors which is a new suggestion we have never tried. Theory is overtime some of them may have become loose from vibration of door open/closing, dirty etc causing inconsistent power between the main cpu mother board and display I/o board on the door especially with big temp swings. We have only done this with the pins on those connectors that the 3 Cryptopay wires land on previously. Cryptopay did say once a couple years back that it seemed like the reader was losing power briefly during pulse cycle. I guess if we have some power loss between cpu board and I/o board that could make sense. Maybe it’s so slight as just a screen flicker you may not notice. Unitec did say we’ve got to have good consistent power to the display I/o board on door and consequently the Cryptopay swiper which wires into j1/j3 connectors. We don’t have any of the Hamilton’s but I imagine it could be something to try on those as well. So we did this today and we’ll report back after letting it run a while. Pic attached to try and help illustrate.
Thanks for the update. I will try this as well.
 
Top