What's new

WW2.0 pump motor tripping

Etowah

Reds

Reaction score
I have a 2.0 that has 65,000 washes on it. Original pump and motor, not rebuilt. The motor tripped out 2 weeks ago and I had to reset the overload control on the bottom of the contactor and also replace the 24v 5 amp fuse that is beside the bank of 3 blue colored relays in the control panel. This week it tripped out twice and blew fuse too. One day after 72 washes, the next day after 30 washes. I can reset the overload and replace the fuse, but the problem seems to come back sporadically. I ran the wash repeatedly to try to get it to trip so I could see what it was doing when it tripped, but could not get it to trip out. Could this be a high pressure solenoid that is shorting out erratically? Or a damaged wire somewhere that is blowing the 24v fuse, then making the pump deadhead until the overload trips? I am not good with electircal trouble shooting, so this is very frustrating for me. I can get the distributor to come look at it but it is hard to find a problem that comes and goes. Plus the dist. is 3 hours away and I would like to find the problem myself before spending the $ on travel and troubleshooting time. I have spare solenoid coils and was going to replace all 3 coils in my gantry high pressure cabinet just for starters. I am grabbing at straws and confused as to why I am blowing 24v fuses and tripping my 25 h.p. motor overload at the same time. Any help would be appreciated.

Buzzie8

Reaction score
I had a similar problem that happened twice on my WW 1.0.. All high pressure functions would stop and the 5 amp fuse in the ECC would blow. The enter now light bulb shorted out and it took a while to troubleshoot. I am not sure if you have the enter now and the tower, but if you do I would look for a short in all of the light fixtures. This actually happened to me two times with wires burning up and shorting out. Worth a try anyway.

Reds

Reaction score