What's new

weep questions, when to shut down, etc.

area123

Reaction score
Newbie here.. This wash is a very low budget wash so looking for ways ideas to lower expenses.

The current owner manually controls the weep, he just turns it on with a valve when he thinks it needs it. He's not had any problems yet he says. But I imagine he wastes a lot of water since he has to remember to go adjust/turn it off, etc. He has a weep controller but stopped using it since he lives next door he says, and it needed a part so he just started doing manually.

We've been wondering if it is more economical to just clear the hoses and turn off the weep when it will be too cold for several days in a row to use the wash, and maybe save some hot water. I've noticed most washes around here just rope off all of their bays when it's below freezing anyway so nobody is going to use them. Are they clearing their lines and turning off the weep flow?

It does get pretty cold here, maybe around 20-25F lows in December-February, but most days it will get above freezing and people will use the wash. But in January and February there can be weeks where it will stay below freezing for 5 days in a row or more.

BBE

Reaction score
You shouldn't be needing to weep hot water, especially if you are only dealing with just below freezing temps. Most just weep standard hard water straight from the city. For a little over 300 bucks you can get a weepmizer which would take care of the problem for you.

https://www.kleen-ritecorp.com/p-8-dx1000-weep-mizer.aspx

area123

Reaction score
So I need to ask him why he's been using hot water I guess.

He's got a raco freeze protection unit which is probably 10 years old. It has a hot and cold weep system on it. It says hot weep below 20f I think. But he turned that off and does manually now. It probably needed a part or wasn't working right.

So nobody just clears the hoses and shuts down completely when it's going to be out of use for a week or so?

cantbreak80