What's new

Wash Club

soapy

Reaction score
I have been kicking around a concept for some of my SS bays at my car washes. The concept is to take 1 or 2 bays and make them a prepaid membership use bay only. MOCADDY car wash in Colorado did this a few years ago with some success. The only way to activate the bay would be if you had a prepaid card. The bay is set up to offer a little lower cost per minute and increased pressure in the bay. The best part of this concept is that it would be the customers responsiblity to keep the bay clean after their use. A fee would be charged to anyone who used the bay and did not clean up after themselves.
I have been cleaning muddy bays for the past 20 years and IMO you do not make any money on the mudders after you factor in the clean up costs of the bays and hauling all the mud from the pits. If they spend $5 in the bay and you then spend 10 to 15 minutes cleaning up the bay it does not make sense to offer the bay. People have certainly changed in the last 20 years and very few of them cleanup a bay anymore. My cost to change over a couple bays per location would be nothing since I already have a wash card system in many of the bays. Has anyone else tried something like this and if so what luck did you have with it?

Jeff_L

Reaction score
For my situation I do not think it would add anything to my business. I would probably spend more $ in signage and time in explaining what the bays are for. Also, to make sure the customer cleaned their own bay, would you have to have someone inspect it each time?

Muddy bays suck, but dirty bays also mean customers have been there. I do my best to clean up after myself and kids at a restaurant, but in no way is the table and below ready for the next customer after we leave. Not sure if the analogy works, but it's what I could compare it to.