What's new

VFD on Pump Stand

tbarnard

Reaction score
Hello All,

About 7 months ago I bought my first carwash. Is is just a single bay SS. I have a Cat 310 pump for my wash, wax, and rinse. There are currently no low pressure functions. I only have Rinse, Wash, Wax, and Foam Brush. I would like to add SFR and a Pre-soak. I have a D&S 600 GPD R.O. unit that I got from a friend of mine. It needs filters and a membrane, but he gave it to me for free so I would like to put it to work.

I don't have a lot of room in my equipment room. My thought was if i could put a Variable Frequency Drive on my one pump stand and use just one pump for High and Low pressure products it would save me room and by the time I buy a second pump, plus the starter bucket, plus another circuit breaker, plus wiring it in, plus control wiring, plus plumbing... well you get my point. Would it be easier / cheaper to just put a Drive on my one pump now? My day job is Programming and Installing Commercial temperature controls, So i spend a lot of time around VFDs. If anyone has done this i have a few questions.

1.) Can you put a VFD on a Cat 310 pump. Will slowing it down make less pressure without adversely effecting the operation of the pump.

2.) I only have single phase power. Can a get a drive that i can feed 220/single phase into and run a 208/3phase motor?

3.) Do i need to oversize the drive if i only feed it single phase power or do they may specific drives for single phase input?

Thanks guys.

Tyler

mjwalsh

6 bay SS w/laundromat
Reaction score
1.) Can you put a VFD on a Cat 310 pump. Will slowing it down make less pressure without adversely effecting the operation of the pump.

2.) I only have single phase power. Can a get a drive that i can feed 220/single phase into and run a 208/3phase motor?

3.) Do i need to oversize the drive if i only feed it single phase power or do they may specific drives for single phase input?

Thanks guys.

Tyler
Tyler,