What's new

Vac is shutting down

SanDiegoSS

Reaction score
Im a newbie at this and before I start replacing parts I wondered if anyone has had this issue.

We have a vac that accepts tokens but the motor turn on for a second and then shuts down. you can put another token in immediately and the same thing will happen. I don't know if this is a bad pulse or if something is tripping.

Couple of pics to help- Thanks!

IMG_0532.jpg IMG_0534.jpg

Randy

Reaction score
The first thing I'd do is replace the timer and rewire the vacuum. Does the timer controll a mercury relay? If it doesn't I'd install one, this will take most of the load off the timer.

Greg_T

Reaction score
1 Licola Road, Heyfield, Victoria, Australia
I agree with Randy, that electrical wiring and electrical equipment looks in poor shape. Certainly re-wiring, or at very least tidying up the existing wiring and using electrical contact cleaner would be a good first step.

Dan kamsickas

GinSan Technician
Reaction score
That GS7 timer has to be at least 20 years old and probably closer to 25. Replace it(the current model is a GS402)and clean up that clumsy wiring. It's most likely just the timer but that is a 24vac timer so it has to be driving a relay of some sort.

MEP001

Reaction score
That GS7 timer has to be at least 20 years old and probably closer to 25. Replace it(the current model is a GS402)and clean up that clumsy wiring. It's most likely just the timer but that is a 24vac timer so it has to be driving a relay of some sort.
It has a 3" coin acceptor so it's probably closer to 30.