What's new

This is a dumb question but I’m new to the business

Sakran

Reaction score
I’m trying to change a belt a
On a 310 cat pump. I can never get it right enough though. I pull has hard as I can then tighten the bolts in the back it’s not super loose but it’s not where it want it to be. Is there a technique to do it correctly. I saw one guy use a come alone but the way these are positioned it’s not possible.

washnvac

Reaction score
Remove the belt, then pull the pump forward a bit. Tighten bolts, then spin belt back on. (Be sure breaker is off before you do this, though. Do not want you to lose a finger)

I never loosen bolts when putting belts on. You just spin old one(s) off, and spin new one on.

I.B. Washincars

Car Washer Emeritus
Reaction score
Remove the belt, then pull the pump forward a bit. Tighten bolts, then spin belt back on. (Be sure breaker is off before you do this, though. Do not want you to lose a finger)

I never loosen bolts when putting belts on. You just spin old one(s) off, and spin new one on.
I did basically the same. If I had the pump loose for some reason, I would pull it as tight as I could by hand and tighten a bolt or two. I would then roll the belt off, move the pump forward about 1/8" and roll the belt back on. This was usually good, but if you don't feel it's tight enough, play with the amount a little bit until you're satisfied. It's not very critical.

MEP001

Reaction score
I’m trying to change a belt a
On a 310 cat pump. I can never get it right enough though. I pull has hard as I can then tighten the bolts in the back it’s not super loose but it’s not where it want it to be. Is there a technique to do it correctly. I saw one guy use a come alone but the way these are positioned it’s not possible.
Get one of these:

Most of the time I can hook the claw under the manifold and the head will reach down to the front of the stand. I can push down on the hammer with one head and tighten the front bolts with the other.