What's new

Solar Powered Signage

Mr. Clean

Reaction score
We're considering solar power for an interior lit sign and LED digital clock. Total wattage will be around 200. We've got a few intersections in the area that have solar powered flashing lights, so I tracked down the supplier. They were interested in providing components but not in the design.

Has anyone had any experience with this design. It's not the preferred way to go, but line voltage isn't possible at this site.

Thanks,

MC

Greg Pack

Wash Weenie
Reaction score
Mr Clean, I have no experience with solar powered signage but a little experience with small solar systems. Solar is expensive and has a long payback. Unless your equipment is DC powered, you're going to have to have panels to generate DC electricity, A charge controller to regulate the battery voltage, batteries to store it, then an inverter to convert it to AC. My guess on costs would be at least 5-7K to get a decent quality setup and enough battery storage that would power that sign reliably with several cloudy days in a row. The panels would last a long time (20 yrs plus) but the batteries would have to be periodically replaced (every few years) . If you wish to further pursue it, I'll dig up some links.

MEP001

Reaction score