What's new

Reclaim system odor!!! Help

torquewrench

Reaction score
I am pretty new to the car wash bus. so please don't laugh to much.
My reclaim water smells really bad sometimes but only sometimes. Why not all the time? I'm sure I'm not the only one to ever have this problem.I change filters every day. I've added chlorine tablets to the storage tanks.The ozone generater looks to be working??Is there chemicals I can add.Thanks for any help in advanced!

MEP001

Reaction score
Chlorine only kills the immediate bacteria and the smell, but it evaporates and leaves the stuff on which bacteria feeds. Aeration will help more by letting the bacteria consume it, so even though it will get a little worse for a short time it will help with no chemicals and minimal expense.

Dean Taylor

Dean Taylor, CATEC.com
Reaction score
Add 2 gallons of chlorine to each tank and circulate. This should hold off the odor for a few days but should only be a temporary fix. Chlorine is very corrosive and will corrode your wash equipment if you keep using it.

If your ozone generator is properly sized and working, it should kill the odors overnight. If your oxygen concentrator is out, the ozone will still work however it will only produce 1/4 the ozone.

This is a problem with many reclaim systems on the market. They outsource their ozone generators. When they go out, they can be very expensive to replace.

Don't mess around with aeration or biological, they can work but are a long shot for a quick fix.

If you happen to have a CATEC Reclaim System, contact us immediately to resolve this issue at little or no cost.

I would recommend against operating with smelly water, it will drive your customers away and it will be difficuly to get them back.

Danny

Reaction score