What's new

Over Voltage Coming into Our Razor

water guy

Active member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
755
Reaction score
203
Points
43
Location
Texas
Hello Everyone we have been running our Razor and having very good luck.We just had to replace our amplifier for the stop and back up.also Changed the amplifier for the entrance as well.WW is telling me that my 24 volt transformer is putting out 27 which is to much.and they advised me to install a buck boost transformer to be able to maintain 24 volts.Has anyone had to do this yet.Thanks
 

1carwash1

Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
182
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Location
east japip
Is that a load or no load current? Do you know what voltage is being applied across the transformer?
 
Last edited:

PEI

Active member
Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
280
Reaction score
53
Points
28
Location
Danville, VA
Yes.

If you have 240 3 Phase VAC then the power company will typically supply you with 250 VAC with spikes up to 275 VAC. This will cause the 24 volt stepdown transformer to put out 27 - 28 VAC. Anything over 26.5 VAC will usually take out the dual amplifier for the stop/backup eyes.

What you will need is a pair of stepdown transformers to step legs 1 and 3 down to 115 VAC when pulled to neutral. This will generate 23 - 26 VAC from the 24 volt stepdown transformer. Wash World sells this setup as a buck boost transformer.

You might want to consider stepping down legs 1 and 3 for all your 240 single phase and 3 phase equipment.
 

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
16,665
Reaction score
3,938
Points
113
Location
Texas
If you have 240 3 Phase VAC then the power company will typically supply you with 250 VAC with spikes up to 275 VAC. This will cause the 24 volt stepdown transformer to put out 27 - 28 VAC. Anything over 26.5 VAC will usually take out the dual amplifier for the stop/backup eyes.
This is correct. Most of these machines call for 208V. You might ask the city to add a third transformer to correct it.
 

water guy

Active member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
755
Reaction score
203
Points
43
Location
Texas
I currently using 3phase 120 208 120 60 amp service feeding my JO Box.
 

Greg Pack

Wash Weenie
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
4,236
Reaction score
1,930
Points
113
Location
Hoover, Alabama
Connect 100 ft coil of wires to your output between your transformer and load:)


Have you checked your transformer wiring? Maybe it's a multi tap and is wired incorrectly.
 
Last edited:

water guy

Active member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
755
Reaction score
203
Points
43
Location
Texas
Thanks Everyone for there input .I ordered a buck boost transformer from ww yesterday.as soon as it's installed I will let you know and keep you posted. Thanks Again.
 

Blanco

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
317
Reaction score
302
Points
63
Im not too familiar with WW but I'm assuming your amplifier is for the photo eyes for stop and back up. If so, thats old technology and you should just change the photo eyes to a set of universal banner eyes that run on anything from 12v-240v for about $200 each set. Throw the old amplifiers in the garage and keep on washing.
 
Top