What's new

New owner

newy

Reaction score
We just opened our first car wash last week in SE PA it is an 80 ft express with self serve bays, we offer free vacs on the express wash only. I have been running business very successfully for almost 20 years but never a car wash. We have researched it for over 10 years but there is nothing like experience!

I would appreciate any info or guidance from the seasoned ones in the biz.

Thank you.

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
1. Take what you consider top-notch, first-rate, exemplary cusutomer service and UP IT!

2. Be your most efficient self. Carry this idea on to your employees as much as possible. Efficient with all costs to provide the service; chemicals, utilities, water, and labor to name a few. Create a mindset of everincreasing efficiency.

3. Focus on quality; everything from a clean car, to employee appearance and site cleanliness are critical.

4. Be a leader, not a follower. Develop your own charity car wash program, hand out free litterbags with your logo, walk around with a spray can of scent and offer it free. Come up with offbeat marketing campaigns to draw customers in.

5. Make it fun. Don't let stress get the better of you making you unhealthy. Try and balance your work and home lives as much as possible. If you have a commute, listen to inspirational books on tape or soothing music when you've had a hard day at the wash.

Good luck.

Greg Pack

Wash Weenie
Reaction score
Since you're new I would suggest really watching the cars leaving your tunnel with a critical eye. Watch for the dirty cars to come in and see what they look like when they leave. The sides will almost always be fine. Look at the backs of SUVs and wheels. Also, make sure the cars are dry. These things can be tweaked through chemistry or equipment adjustments.

In a prepless express chemistry can make you or break you.

Carwash college at the Sonny's factory in Florida is money well spent.

Chiefs

Reaction score