What's new

New buyer - 6 self serve bays and one IBA

Graceland

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have always wanted to own a self service car wash. Mostly because my other business is highly reliant on specialized talent and has become more about managing people than managing a business. I’m looking for a business with little employees.

I found a car wash for sale in my hometown that has 6 bays, and 1 IBA tunnel. It is in a good location, grosses $400k / yr, and cash flows $200k / yr. The sellers said the real estate was valued at $500k (I think may be high) and they are asking $1.2 million. Again this seems a little high. If real estate is $500k and 2.5x cash flow it should be closer to $1mil?

Since I’m new to this I’m not sure how to make sure this is a good deal and do my due diligence before drafting an LOI. My biggest concern is from what I can see there are terrible reviews saying the automatic doesn’t clean good at all, it’s over priced and the bay is too short of time for the price.

According to the records, it seems the money keeps coming in but as a first timer here, how much do you all set aside for capital expenses? Once I get the date of the IBA, how often do those need to be replaced? How can I gather how much it would cost to get the machine in a more acceptable working order? Or should I plan to replace if I find out it is quite old? I would love to add a self serve dog wash in one of the bays, add new lighting to the building, create a website, Facebook page, etc to drive even more revenue. Anyone else done that and found success?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

TMoliver

Reaction score