What's new

LW 4000 sensor problem : "back out"

bandali

Reaction score
First off, I'm a LW4000 newbie. Have owned a 5-bay self-serve for 4 years, and just bought this 2 -bay automatic last month. Both bays have the PDQ LW4000 with Unitec POS II.

BTW - as my first test, I replaced the leaking 1" swivel and boom hose yesterday (on Bay 1) - yeah !

Now, I have this intermittent problem (on Bay 2) that tells customers to "back up" but then it doesn't start. Resetting via joystick to home resolves the problem, but I want to get to the root cause.
The T-bar on the drivers side is closer in on this bay than the other, and may be blocking one of the sensors (I don't know the technical names for the sensors yet). But this T-bar is clamped with U-bolts to the overhead bridge so I don't want to mess with it needlessly. Also, I'm thinking it may have always been like this.

It started a week ago, and does this almost once a day, but I've had a few days with no problems.

The fault code on the printout is always "Entrance Timeout" code 55. Any input is appreciated.

lag

Reaction score
Do you have a VT (virtual treadle) ?,or floor treadle ( plate on the floor to drive into) ?

bandali

Reaction score
I have nothing on the floor to drive into, so I presume VT.

koliver

PDQ Sales Engineer
Reaction score
One of the issues based off of what you said may be the arch blocking the VT photo eyes when it is in the home position. Look to see that the arch is straight up and down and not bent. If it is bent, you will need to straighten it out to help prevent it from blocking the eyes.

lag

Reaction score
If possible ,the next time it happens,before you reset ,go into the bay and make sure nothing is in front of the photo eyes mounted on the wall. The one you will be looking at will be toward the exit.

If nothing is blocking the back up eyes ,then you may just simply have a dirty sensor. I have also seen these get cloudy looking. You may also have one of the back up eyes going bad.