What's new

Lighting question

CLEARVIEW CARWASH

Reaction score
Guys,
I am new to this business, and new to the forum.
I recently purchased a 5 bay SS with an IBA in Georgia.
My question is regarding efficient, bright lighting for my bays, as well as my vacuum islands. I currently have 175w Halide fixtures. They are really not bright enough. My building is red brick and it does not light up sufficiently at night. I saw a post regarding flourescent lights sold at Lowes and Home Depot.(in the 50.00 price range, including bulb) The post did not have any specific info about what fixtures they are. I went to home depot and saw what I believe to be the right one. It has no covering on the opening(they are round in shape). I don't know if these are the ones mentioned, but I don't know if they would do well if they get wet.
Can anyone offer some ideas on what fixtures to buy? I really want to brighten this place up. It doesn't have to be these specific ones, but something really bright that is efficient and cost effective.
Thanks in advance!!!

Randy

Reaction score
If your lights are dim and the bulbs haven?t been changed in over 18 months it might time to change out the Metal Halide bulbs, we change all of your every 16-18 months. Also if you have plastic lens on the fixtures that have yellowed upgrade them to glass, they look a lot better and put out more light.

I think the Regents lighting fixture is a little better constructed than the Lights of America fixture. They use the same 65 watt bulb. www.regentlighting.com/common/brand...&category=Dusk to Dawn: Fluorescent&id=11909 You can get them at Lowes.

If you want to use the case of your existing 175 watt Metal Halide wall pack you?re going to have to remove the ballast from the 175 watt fixture, buy an area light and take the guts out of it and install it into the Metal Halide fixture. The only part of the existing 175 watt fixture you use is the Mogul base socket.

Sequoia

AKA Duane H- 3 bay SS
Reaction score