What's new

Late Night Idea - CC Discount

wyatt

Reaction score
I now have a new location that uses tokens so I am new to the token game. Anyways, people love them because tokens are worth more time than quarters/cc and it's been that way for years. Now it's no secret that people spend more on credit cards vs any other payment type so would it make sense to discount credit cards so they match token value? Would the increase in wash time be enough to warrant the price discount?

My hesitations with the idea:
- More cc fees
- Less "float" money out on lost tokens (people buy tokens, don't use them, and then end up losing them)

Thoughts?

MEP001

Reaction score
You could vend tokens via a CC swiper, but historically people don't like to do it that way. You might still be able to make that work since the tokens are already there and it's something the customers are used to. Otherwise, I'd be concerned about combining discounted CC with all the fees and the CC equipment maintenance costs, combined with the loss of the bonus from lost tokens.

Does this wash need an attraction like this to beat the competition or to attract customers? Does it already have CC acceptance?

wyatt

Reaction score
It has CC acceptance already but only accounts for roughly 30% of revenue.

I just wish I knew the exact numbers because if the extra time used with CC heavily outweighed the amount of time people use with quarters or tokens it would make financial sense to encourage CC usage even with a slight discount.

Does anyone have an exact number or % more that CC users use vs traditional?

CarWashBoy

Reaction score
It has CC acceptance already but only accounts for roughly 30% of revenue.

I just wish I knew the exact numbers because if the extra time used with CC heavily outweighed the amount of time people use with quarters or tokens it would make financial sense to encourage CC usage even with a slight discount.

CarWashBoy

Reaction score