What's new

IBA - Advise on a new wash

WashSingh

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm new to the IBA world - in the past I've only owned Self Service washes. I've been digging through the forum looking for guidance, and I was hoping you guys could provide me your insight and feedback. The site I recently acquired is in Northern Virginia, and it has an existing (16 Year old) Ryko Softgloss unit. It works, but not very well. I'm looking to put in a new automatic at the site, and have been looking at my options. I've been doing this by not only looking at the different IBA manufactures, but also the reputations of the service providers who sell them as well.

My bay is (34ft - L x 15ft - W x 12 - H), with a tiny machine room of (6th -L x 4ft - H). Adding on more space is unfortunately not possible due to the local county ordnance. So, the measurements above are all I have to work with. I discussed my location with a local PDQ representative, however after a few meetings he stated that a large concerns of his were the height of the bay, water pressure/inflow pipe size, and the heat tube being literally inches from the Bridge if he were to conduct the install. So - unfortunately that option seems to be out. The double cost from going to touchless from friction is also a concern of mine as well.

I've been looking at Ryko as another option. I was thinking that another Softgloss unit might be a good solution, however I'm very concerned by some of the issues people have come across on these forums, as well as other Ryko owners in my area. Particularly, the delay in service response and technicians taking days, or even weeks to fix an issue. I can't imagine my wash being down for that long. Furthermore, from what I read only Ryko service technicians can service/fix/diagnose Ryko machines, and ordering parts can only be done via a technician? And only from Ryko?