What's new

High Pressure Lines from Equip room to Bays

Etowah

softsuds

Reaction score
I'm remodeling a Self Serve Wash. Any Suggestions on what to use for the high pressure lines from the Equipment room out to the bay booms ? I'm new to this.

Currently there is 3/8" high pressure rubber hose. Just looking for ideas on something better or is this the best way to go ?

Thanks

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
stainless steel is better.

I have regular hp hose and it is fine. it's the hoses people yank on that wear out most.

softsuds

Reaction score
stainless steel is better.

I have regular hp hose and it is fine. it's the hoses people yank on that wear out most.

Do you mean a braided stainless hose or rigid stainless tubing ?

-Brandon

MEP001

Reaction score
I've always used the Synflex hose. It won't break if it freezes, and it has some give to it that makes the bay run smoother and quieter. It needs to be protected so that it won't rub through against something, otherwise it holds up very well.

washtubman

Reaction score
My wash was built in 1988 and I have never had to replace the 3/8" Goodyear high pressure rubber hoses that run to the bays. Of course you need them to be wire braid on the inside. I would not go with anything else unless of course the pocketbook is fat!

Randy

Reaction score
It sounds to me like you?re on a budget. I?d go with 3/8? Stainless steel braid hose, Goodyear Neptune is a good hose. I?ve got hoses that have been in service 20 years and they are still holding up. You want to install chaffing on any rub points up in the attic so the hose doesn?t wear a hole in it.
If you want to get real fancy, Use Stainless steel tubing.

jprb

Reaction score
I don't remember if I have ever changed a hose in the attic, other than one that was chaffing on a bend. Our oldest wash is 12 years old now. They are all braided hose. Not sure if any are stainless braid.

JPRB

dclark3344

Reaction score