What's new

Hard Tar Removal

bigleo48

Reaction score
All,

I recently purchased a car that sat for a while with what appears to be hardened tar. This is an expensive sports car and I am very concerned about not damaging the paint. None of the bug and tar type products have be successful at softening this tar. I know I could use solvents...but at what expense to the paint. Would claybar work?

Any help is appreciated...Big Leo

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Use a product called 'Prep All,' wax and grease remover. Squirt some on, let it dwell 30 seconds and wipe it off with a rag. No worries, mate.

Clay afterwards, being sure to rewash the vehicle, because the residual solvent will smear the clay.

Trust me; I am a tar removal expert.

bigleo48

Reaction score
Your the man...I'll pick some up later and ley you know how it goes.

Big Leo

bmills

Reaction score
WD40 is also very effective for tar removal and is safe on the paint.

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
As is a product called 'oilflo' from Titan Chemical. I still like Prep All the best, but you do have choices. Most detail supply sources have a solvent specifically designed for grease, tar and wax removal. I've found several uses for it around the carwash, too.

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Aaah, the sweet smell of gasoline! Takes me back to my youth, detailing my Honda CT 70. Yep, gas cuts tar and grease just fine and as expensive as gas is, it's far cheaper than prep all and WD-40.

Mr.Aap

Reaction score
A Citrus Solvent will work wonders on tar.....

DavidM

Reaction score
I'll throw in my favorite tar remover - Tarminator by Stoner Products. We purchase it 55 gallons at a time for our detail shop.

David

bigleo48

Reaction score
Aaah, the sweet smell of gasoline! Takes me back to my youth, detailing my Honda CT 70. Yep, gas cuts tar and grease just fine and as expensive as gas is, it's far cheaper than prep all and WD-40.