What's new

Easiest way to remove decals?

Shane

Reaction score
Hello,

First post here. I am not new to forums but I am new to this one. My wife and I are cleaing up a wash that we just purchased. 3 Self Serve and 1 Automatic bay. I am starting the process of putting new decals on the vacuums, vending boxes, and Self Serve coin box face plates. Do you guys have any tips on removing the old decals cleanly and easily? I have the bulk of the decal off and have tried Goo Gone and Mineral Spirits on the remains. Neither of them do much to the sticky stuff left behind by the decal. I am hoping there is something better than lots and lots of elbow grease.

Thanks!
Shane

Reaction score
you might try zep stainless cleaner, takes off grime, grease, works great on metal surfaces.

MEP001

Reaction score
3M Adhesive cleaner works great. It's a little slower drying than stuff like carb cleaner, and it's not nearly as volatile. Best way to get the mass of the goo off is to wet the area with a soaked cloth, then scrape gently with a razor blade. You'll find that a single pass will get a big glob off onto the blade, and from there you can wipe the residue off with another soaked cloth. You'll need to keep turning and replacing the cloths, otherwise the goo will just clog the wiper and you'll just smear it around. It's still somewhat time consuming, but it's pretty easy.

Zep stainless cleaner won't do anything for removing old adhesive.

Eric H

Reaction score
+1 for the 3M decal remover

I also use green scotchbrite pad after most of the goop is off, it helps breakup the last little bits.

PVC pipe cleaner also works for getting the real hard stuff off.

BTW: None of my vacs have decals anymore. They look a lot better without them.

Rudy

Reaction score
If you are careful....you can use gasket remover from the auto parts store. It works great, but don't let it get on anything other than the stainless....such as plexiglass or similar.

Chiefs

Reaction score