What's new

~~Detailing Airplanes~~

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
An opportunity has arisen whereby I may be able to begin detailing airplanes.

There are many variables for me to consider here.

I am considering farming out the wash process altogether because the hangar that is available is not set up for washing, but is heated.

I have no knowledge of materials, procedures or time requirements for detailing airplanes, so I guess my hope is to open up a dialogue here to determine:

1. How many of my automobile cleaners, waxes and polishes are compatible with planes? Are there certain chems that should NEVER be used on planes, for example?

2. What I should pay a subcontractor to do a detail-prep wash job?

3. How many pricing categories should exist for small-medium size planes?

4. Who can train me to perform airplane detailing?

Any other ideas or suggestions are welcome. Thanks!:D

Jim Caudill

Self Serve Operator
Reaction score
I would approach this very cautiously! First, I was a private pilot before going into the Air Force and flying for 6-1/2 years. I then flew as a charter pilot, commuter airline pilot, and then a corporate pilot. I also have the A&P (airframe and powerplant) license to work on aircraft. You should not touch an airplane without knowing what you are doing. There are the obvious issues such as static ports and pitot tubes that need to be protected during cleaning and then reopened. A piece of tape left over a static port following a wash, caused the crash of a South American airliner a few years ago. Moisture in the sensing ports caused the crash of a B-2 on Guam a few months ago. You definitely would not want to pay for a scratched windshield or be responsible for a rag or other debris being sucked into an engine. Check with your insurance company regarding your exposure for even touching an airplane professionally. I could go on and on, but you get the idea.

Jim Caudill

Self Serve Operator
Reaction score