What's new

Counting $$$

TRenninger

Reaction score
I'm new to owning a self serve car wash. I'm curious on how y'all keep track of sales. Do you count quarters that are in vaults as sales or the cash in change machine?

slash007

Reaction score
I'm new to owning a self serve car wash. I'm curious on how y'all keep track of sales. Do you count quarters that are in vaults as sales or the cash in change machine?
Counting the change machine is inaccurate big time as people don't spend all the change they get, and you also get people that get change and leave. Only count what quarters you find in the bays and vacs.

BBE

Reaction score
You also would not be accounting for anyone who already had quarters of their own and used those in your machines and didn't even get change at your machine.

MEP001

Reaction score
I just put all the quarters that I can into the changer and count the bills that come out plus the leftover coins. It's accurate enough as far as sales. If you start and end the year, quarter, month, however you track it, with the same amount of quarters in the changer it's perfectly accurate. If you're buying quarters because of walk-off, you have to account for that.

Overachiever

Reaction score
I just put all the quarters that I can into the changer and count the bills that come out plus the leftover coins. It's accurate enough as far as sales. If you start and end the year, quarter, month, however you track it, with the same amount of quarters in the changer it's perfectly accurate. If you're buying quarters because of walk-off, you have to account for that.
I'm pretty much in the same boat as the OP. Just bought a car wash last month.

Do you use QuickBooks? Do you just keep a petty cash account and keep replenishing as walk-off happens? I wasn't quite sure how to track the money you put back into the machines to offset the walk-off.

Eric H

Reaction score