What's new

Control cable

mac

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
3,285
Reaction score
583
Points
113
This should be simple but ain’t. Looking to buy 600’of 18/18 control cable. Went online and first place I call the lady doesn’t speak English. Other places scratch their head even though the web site says they sell it. Know any sources?
 

mac

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
3,285
Reaction score
583
Points
113
I owe you a drink. Thank you very much.
 

cantbreak80

Maybe I need new clubs
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
853
Reaction score
216
Points
43
Location
CO
Pretty much the same...except for the "clear Polyamide (nylon)" insulation layer and the jacket color (Grey vs Black).
I buy for the job, typically 500' - 800'
Haven't purchased any this year
Last year's price was $1.40/ft.
 

OurTown

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
2,208
Reaction score
422
Points
83
Location
Dayton, Ohio
Pretty much the same...except for the "clear Polyamide (nylon)" insulation layer and the jacket color (Grey vs Black).
I buy for the job, typically 500' - 800'
Haven't purchased any this year
Last year's price was $1.40/ft.

Do you know the diameter? The one I linked is a tad over 5/8" which I think is pretty small compared to others I found.
 

cantbreak80

Maybe I need new clubs
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
853
Reaction score
216
Points
43
Location
CO
Sorry, OurTown.
I don't have any in my inventory. But, ~5/8" seems to be correct. It's relatively easy pulling through 3/4" EMT even with an accompanying Cat6.
 

mjwalsh

6 bay SS w/laundromat
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
2,886
Reaction score
114
Points
63
Location
North Dakota

cantbreak80

Maybe I need new clubs
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
853
Reaction score
216
Points
43
Location
CO
I don’t use Belden because there’s no Green conductor.

How am I supposed to maintain my color code consistency when there’s no Green?:sneaky:
 

mac

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
3,285
Reaction score
583
Points
113
This is crazy. Been about 2 weeks and still don’t have cable and no one seems to know where it is. Instead of control cable it should be called phantom cable.
 
Top