What's new

Car Wash & Ice Cream Combo Location??

ScottV

Upstate NY
Reaction score
I currently have a 5 year old site with 2 IBA / 2SS and about 300 mini storage units.

I am considering purchasing another tract of land in a very favorable section of town. There are no IBA washes within a 5 mile radius and I have been mulling over this site for a couple of years due to the traffic count, rooftops, demographics, etc.

Since I'm constantly trying to come up with the next "killer" business venture, I've also become intrigued by some of the ice cream shops in the area. I feel like it offers a seasonal summer business that would offset an otherwise very seasonal winter car wash business in the NE.

Do any of you have experience in one of these combo sites? If so, any information that you might have would be appreciated. One question I had was around site design. Would you design one building for both businesses (there is one like this in our area) or would you build 2 distinct seperate buildings on the same lot? My plan would be to only have IBA's at this new location, along with a complimentary business such as ice cream, coffee express, etc.

I appreciate any feedback or opinions that you might offer.

Scott V.

Parker

Reaction score
I run a 1 IBA - 3 ss / seasonal ice cream shop up here in Lincoln, Maine and the ice cream sales are incrediable in the summer here. We make all the ice cream here on site and have around 50 flavors and they work great together. The ice cream shop and car wash are all one building

It also makes it great that there is some one always here to break bills 7 days a week from 10am-10pm. and when they have to come to the window 2-3 times they will get and ice cream...

Red Baron

Reaction score
Scotty,