What's new

Buying existing car wash questions

Rodj13

Reaction score
There’s an opportunity to buy an existing 3 bay ss wash in a smaller town that I live in. I’m brand new at all of this so I was wondering what you all did as far as financing. Sounds like sba loans are common but I’m not too sure how they work.
- What’s the normal down payment for an sba?

- Can the property and business be financed all as one?

- Do all of them require collateral and can the real estate be used. ( or what methods of collateral are you using)

- What kind of fees/ closing fees are involved

- I also noticed the business could qualify under a USDA loan since my town has a small population. Has anyone had experience with one of these?

I’ve seen the current owner often and have obtained a couple P&L statements from him. Is there anything else as far as info that I should try to get from him?

thanks for the help

Rodj13

Reaction score
Try to get him to owner finance.
I’ve seen people do that but I think the chances are pretty slim. He’s in his mid 70’s and looking to leave town (Colorado). Might be worth asking though.

MEP001

Reaction score
It's always worth asking. Worst that can happen is he'll say no. Unless he needs the whole amount now, he'll have a steady and significant income for the next 10-15 years.

Joswhaha

Reaction score
Howdy sir,
I just purchased a existing car wash in December and dealt with some of these issues. I ended up talking to seller into financing the deal with a balloon in 5 years with the payment amortized over 15 years.

I could of got a better price by getting a bank loan and paying him at once but it is easier and more flexible with owner financing.

I have a pretty good relationship with my bankers and they would finance 85% of the purchase price, 20 year amortization, 5 year term. Probably fairly common terms for a commercial bank loan.

Joswhaha

Reaction score
A few things I forgot…are you talking 50k, 500k, or 5 million valuation?