What's new

Another newbie in TX question...

Vince

Reaction score
I'm in the San Antonio area. Looking to buy a SS car wash for my sons to teach them Entrepreneur/Business 101. My background is as an apartment developer. I want a zero employee car wash to get their business basics and discipline down before jumping into a car wash with employees.

Now for the question:
Since these self serve bays do so much in cash, how do you REALLY know what the cap rate is on these businesses since so much is not reported? What is the metric you use to try to get to the bottom of this? Cars per day or week? Is there a 1 to 1 relationship with water gallon usage that you may be able to smoke out how much business they're really doing?

Thanks in advance for any and all responses.

Roz

Reaction score
CAP Rates are for real estate that has steady rental income or for self storage businesses where you can rely on a steady or almost steady income. SS locations are priced either at a multiple of gross revenue, or NOI, or at land value - usually whatever is higher for the seller. Other variable is the state of the equipment and facilities - does the place need additional investment. That additional investment sometimes comes off the value depending on the situation.