What's new

A Clean Car

aubry588

Reaction score
I'm new to the car wash industry, and i am working on a futura millennium and everything is going pretty good. This wash was so run down and everything was so rigged up, but we are turning it around. Now, I have heard that pre-soak is what really cleans the car in a touchless car wash. Is this true, and if so what is the best chemical to do the job?

mac

Reaction score
At this point your question is a lot like asking if blonds really are more fun. (Yes, they are.) With any touchless machine it will be the chemicals that clean the car. Many, if not the majority of touchless operators use a two step chemical process. Usually they apply a low ph chemical, an acid, followed by a high ph chemical, called a base inchemistry. Some operators use only a high ph with good results. The wash quality will be determined a lot by your geographical location, and other local conditions such as the ph of the water, and if the water is softened well enough.Generally the more expensive the chemical, the better it cleans. Not always, but most of the time. I would start by asking the local soap salesmen to come and set up a sample to see how well it does. Not all soap salesmen are created equal either. The chemical needs to be mixed right and delivered to get good coverage and maximum dwell time. You should expect to pay around 0.45 to 0.80 per car on chemical costs per wash. Where are you located?

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
I use a 2 step application of a high ph chemical with great results.

Water quality as well as speed and psi/volume of water you put on the car are critical. Also the water must be heated for optimum results.

aubry588

Reaction score
I'm located in Covington GA like 30 miles east of Atlanta. I have a guy from Blenco coming out. Are they good chemicals?

termn8tr

Reaction score