What's new

What do you guys do about credit card chargebacks?

slash007

Reaction score
After almost a year having Cryptopay, I finally had my first chargeback. Bank sends a chargeback letter stating that the card used was stolen. It was a $17 charge and I responded letting them know that the card was present and it was an unattended wash, but yesterday I got a chargeback letter saying that since there is no signed slip then I can't prove cardholder participation. Do I have any options? So basically every single customer could dispute the cc charges and I would lose every time? I deal with cc processors over chargebacks all the time and the deck is stacked against the merchant, but this is my first time having the issue at the car wash.

Greg Pack

Wash Weenie
Reaction score
It's not worth my time to dispute the occasional chargeback. I don't worry about them and throw the notice in the trash. Besides, most of my chargebacks were when I was on Bluepay, and probably were legit.....

washnvac

Reaction score
I have had this happen a couple of times. I get the exact date and time, and tell them I will get the video, and report to the police the info for a stolen c/c. In every case, customer suddenly remembers they were there using the service. Go figure??

slash007

Reaction score
After reading your post, I decided to dig more. I called the guy and asked about it and he admits to using the car wash and says that he told his bank that he did. He says some girl stole his cc and used it all around town including at some car washes, but he did use my ss wash. He obviously did tell the bank that the charges at my wash were invalid or he they would not have charged it back. I will now fight it and see what happens.

Randy

Reaction score
How much money are will talking about?

Earl Weiss

Reaction score