What's new

Taxes

jayjohn

Reaction score
Hello
I am new to the car wash industry
And I am trying to see what are the tax deductions i get in a carwash
I asked my accountant and he was like there is not much
Are rainy days considered tax deductions ? And giving away free washes also considered tax deductions?

Overachiever

Reaction score
The way it works for me is any expense is tax deductible.. so giving away free washes will end up being a tax deduction based on the cost of my chemicals, utilities, maintenance costs. So in other words the more money you spend on car wash related things like upgrading, repairing, inventory, building out your tool collection, etc the less you'd pay in taxes.

Oh forgot to mention home office, cell phone, storage units, travel to and from the car wash, traveling to car wash expos, stuff like that you can deduct as well.

Last edited:

Greg Pack

Wash Weenie
Reaction score
As I understand it free washes are not deductible because you didn't receive any money for them, so it just reduces your net. Rainy days just also reduce your gross and net revenue so no deductions there.

You can depreciate the building and land over 15 years instead of the usual longer terms for general purpose property. That is probably the big one in this business that many CPAs may not know about.

Overachiever

Reaction score
As I understand it free washes are not deductible because you didn't receive any money for them, so it just reduces your net. Rainy days just also reduce your gross and net revenue so no deductions there.
Yeah that is what I meant to say, was trying to say something a long the lines of if you give away 1000.00 worth of soap and utilities costs you can deduct that, but you can't be like I gave away 1000 $20 car washes, so give me a $20k tax deduction.

Rfreeman

Reaction score
Hello
Are rainy days considered tax deductions ? And giving away free washes also considered tax deductions?
Sounds like you need a new accountant

MEP001