What's new

Taxes & deductions

soonermajic

Reaction score
As most of u know, Im a HS Coach, who owns a couple washes.
What are se of the more obscure things I need to be writing off? Or, what are some good tax strategies.
We owe quite a bit, for the first time, this yr.

HeyVern

Reaction score
Fuel, business lunches or dinners, travel expenses to conventions and such, vehicle maintenance and depreciation, memberships to clubs or organizations used for networking and public relations. Almost anything can be a business expense, everything can be with a little creativity.

soapy

Reaction score
Section 179 lets you take accelerated depreciation on equipment in the year it was put into service. Last time I checked it was limited to up to a 125K per year write off. A vehicle with a GVW of over 6800 lbs can be written completely off. You shoule get with a good CPA, they won't cost you money they will save you money.

traveler17

Reaction score
100 percent agree w soapy. I found a CPA awhile back that’s worth the money. There are guys like him that are creative. I wanted someone who can bend the tree without breaking it 😬

soonermajic

Reaction score
Section 179 lets you take accelerated depreciation on equipment in the year it was put into service. Last time I checked it was limited to up to a 125K per year write off. A vehicle with a GVW of over 6800 lbs can be written completely off. You shoule get with a good CPA, they won't cost you money they will save you money.
Can u write off your truck & mileage?
My tax guy said no, bit mileage is better. I can write off mileage since this is my 2nd job!

Also, wife found a $75,000 mistake she made
in our favor! Not sure how she missed the $90,000 deposit in 1 month!!!

MC3033

Reaction score
Miles you can write off to the IRS limit ($.585).