What's new

Mobile detailer looking to expand

crumbgrabber

Reaction score
This may just be a dream, but it's a dream that won't leave me. I've been a detailing hobbyist for years, but last year started a mobile detailing company. It's a new concept in this area (northcentral IL) and has done well in good weather. Last year, I really didn't invest too much time in promoting the dealership work, but I'm thinking about stretching out this year and maybe hiring a good part-timer for lot washes. Good idea? I was thinking of $1.50-$2.00 range for washes with RO water. Then I would keep growing the business in the residential market and doing the detail work, etc..

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Given my knowledge of dealerships, I would skip this idea.

Given the fact that the Federal Clean Waters Act prohibits carwash water entering anything but the sanitary sewer system (not the storm drains or catch basins), I would skip this idea.

MEP001

Reaction score
I know a couple guys who make really good money doing dealership cars with RO water and a pump on a trailer. Evidently not all areas are concerned with the Federal Clean Waters Act.

Mr.Aap

Reaction score
As long as your putting on RO water only you should have no problems....But I do think you are under selling your-self....

bigleo48

Reaction score
As long as your putting on RO water only you should have no problems....But I do think you are under selling your-self....
Mr Aap,

It doesn't mater what kind of water your using, it's all the other chems used in car washing & detailing you can't put down the drain. I have seen trailers that have their own capture systems in car wash rags, so you may be able to do it that way legaly (if you care)

Big Leo

Last edited:

Mr.Aap

Reaction score
Mr Aap,