What's new

Looking into the detailing business

Etowah

WikiWash

Reaction score
I have room at my location to open a detailing shop next to my car wash. I have been thinking about ideas to generate more revenue and detailing is one of them. I have no detailing experience except for cleaning my own vehicles. Is this something I can learn from doing research online and with trial and error improve my skills? Are there detailing companies that offer detailing schools for people who want to get into the business? Is this a good idea? Should I maybe work for a detailler to learn about the business? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
It is complicated. I have been detailing since 1985 and only recently began detailing cars in a way that is highly efficient. Will you be the detailed or hire others? For a detail shop to make decent profits you need to keep prices high. If quality doesn't match price, your value of service drops and you have problems.

You need to develop a service menu, order of operations and pricing strategy. You need to know what to buy and from whom for supplies. You need a carpet extractor, buffer, vacs, carts and air tools. We use tornados cleaning tools, tornados blow guns, pneumatic carpet scrubbers and typhoon guns. A detail shop needs to have awesome lighting, organization , an air compressor and be bright and clean.

I learned from experts like Hank stout, Dennis denn, Denny Bryant and bud Abraham. I would contact bud, who is on act. He is your best bet for help creating a detail shop that will make money. There are many that fail. Good luck.

robert roman

Bob Roman
Reaction score
“Any advice would be greatly appreciated.”

Yes, hit the brakes on what to buy and start at the beginning just like if you were going to build a new wash.

Perform a sanity test. Does this idea make sense?