What's new

How much pressure when buffing?

tw1012

Reaction score
I am just learning how to detail.

I am using a harbor freight 50$ Boston tools polisher along with 3m's 3 step process (white black then blue). Is this a good combination? How much pressure should I apply for each step? Is there a different buffer that I should be using?

rph9168

Carwashguy
Reaction score
I used to tell people to only apply as much pressure as you can from the wrist down. Let the buffer and the product work for you.

Merkel

Reaction score
Focus on amount of pressure being exerted and speed and everything else will come together. You dont want half moons:)

smokun

Consultant - Rainmaker
Reaction score
Consider This...

I agree with Ron... but with this additional suggestion: Buffing should be uniformly consistent in pad pressure, RPM speed and contact-time. The downward weight of the buffer plus the needed pressure to keep the pad consistently flat with the surface should be an easy guideline. Consistent speed combined with surface-contact time will deliver uniform buffing.

Instead of using the Harbor Freight tool, I recommend beginner detailers consider trying a Flex 3401 dual-action polisher. It will give you similar performance without the cumbersome drawbacks of a rotary buffer such as greater potential of swirls, rapid heat build-up, and product splatter. The orbital action of the Flex will make it considerably easier to get optimum results from your products... and offer greater potential for a top-notch finish that will do you proud.