What's new

High Ph / low Ph / bugs

JustClean

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to the touchless machines. I also have a brush machine for over 5 years. I searched the forum and found plenty of different views about high ph / low ph also depending on the soil and where you live. Anyway, I still try to optimize my touchless and maybe someone on this forum is able to help.

Our climate is like Florida. Road grime, dirt, etc. is no issue but BUGS are.
This are the settings:
High PH
HP rinse
Low PH
HP rinse
High PH
HP rinse
3x foam
wax
HP rinse
RO

All with bug passes.
The titration is: 35 drops on the High PH and 30 drops on the low PH.
I feel I shouldn't go any higher to prevent damage. Although other car washes in my area using Blendco titrate with 45 drops.

I tried 2x High PH with plenty of soaking plus no low PH so I thought I also could get rid of one HP rinse but the cars were worse.

Changing chemicals is the last resort as I want to support my distributor.
Any ideas would be much appreciated. Thanks.

robert roman

Bob Roman
Reaction score
“Any ideas would be much appreciated.”

“Changing chemicals is the last resort as I want to support my distributor.”

Is the distributor paying your bills or the customer?

“Our climate is like Florida. Road grime, dirt, etc. is no issue but BUGS are.”

So, what is the constraint - the machine or chemical or both?

If the chemical can clean dirt, I suspect the constraint is the machine.

Since you did research, you know alkaline solutions are better for cleaning dirt, grease, proteins, oils and other organics.

Acids are better for removing calcium, rust and other minerals.

Bugs, like love bugs, are acidic. Without a car-care appearance condom, the acid will eventually penetrate the clearcoat and create an etching.

This implies an alkaline solution (touch-less) or soap plus friction and then protection like wax or sealant.