What's new

foam brush solenoid

thbeard8

Reaction score
Im pretty new to the ss car wash world and slowly working on upgrading a lot of the aging components. when i purchased the wash i noticed that each foam brush line had a solenoid in the equipment room and then an addition solenoid in each bay where the air and chemical lines meet. to me this additional solenoid seems redundant. is there a better way this could be set up? additional my wash doesn't have any low pressure functions. i would like to change this but im having trouble figuring out how to run the low pressure functions into the high pressure line. is there a manifold that works well for this application and does each low pressure line need a solenoid in the bay like the foam brush? sorry for the newbie question. i tried searching around and really couldnt find a straight answer. thanks in advance!

MEP001

Reaction score
The simplest method to bring everything together is to use tees or crosses and check valves at the boom. The fewer check valves the better.

Some pictures of your foam brush system would make it easier to understand, but the simplest and most reliable setups have both solenoids in the room, usually just a stack for air and a stack for liquid, then the two go to the foam brush boom in separate tubing and combine and connect to the boom with a 1/2" boom. A foam generator will make more foam, but a lot of guys just use a tee.

I.B. Washincars

Car Washer Emeritus
Reaction score
One solenoid in the equipment room is all I have ever seen. The LP functions that share the HP hose will need a check valve. Maybe someone used the redundant solenoid for a CV.

thbeard8

Reaction score
The simplest method to bring everything together is to use tees or crosses and check valves at the boom. The fewer check valves the better.