What's new

Express Detailing Services at the Exterior Carwash

buda

Reaction score
Would appreciate getting answers from exterior or express operators who have an express detail program at their wash:

a. How do you promote the services?
b. What percentage of your car wash customers purchase a service?
c. How long did it take you to reach that percentage from the time you started offering the services?
d. What prices do you charge for hand wax; seat shampoo; carpet shampoo?
e. With or without the car wash?

Thanks in advance for your replies and input.

Bud Abraham

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
First off, I am ss/iba/detail, but no one else responded so here's my scenario/stats.

20-25% (have to look at QB for exact). of detail customers are express. I had been doing express services for many years without labelling them as such. My wash/vac/windows is a popular express package, with Express polish second.

I charge $39.99-$49.99 with the lower amount the the norm.

I market it with banners on a-frame signs as well as newspaper ads and radio. However my radio and print ads more focus on carwash and full detail.

A friend of mine has an express bash once every 2 months or so. She promotes it heavily and for 3 days does all express services for $19.99 including a conveyorized carwash.

My services include a carwash at $39.99 price point. SS (done by me and my staff) or IBA at my discretion. Many of my regular express customers receive an IBA wash and it works out very well.

Earl Weiss

Reaction score
Would appreciate getting answers from exterior or express operators who have an express detail program at their wash:

a. How do you promote the services?
b. What percentage of your car wash customers purchase a service?
c. How long did it take you to reach that percentage from the time you started offering the services?
d. What prices do you charge for hand wax; seat shampoo; carpet shampoo?
e. With or without the car wash?