What's new

Dispensing dollar coins instead of quarters

chaz

Reaction score
At this point, we heard the political side of dollar coins, wanting thoughts on dispensing them at my wash.........

My auto, s/s, and 3 of 8 vacs currently accept bills, quarters, dollar coins, and c/c (oops.... c/c not on vacs) My other vacs and vendor take bills and quarters. My changer takes 1,5,10 and 20's and dispenses quarters. Vac start is $1, s/s start is $3

Thoughts on switching changer to dispense dollar coins. I would still allow quarters on all equipment. What concerns if I do not add Multi coin to the other 5 vacs. My thoughts on the change to dollar coins, less filling the hopper for non customers needing laundry change and easier to insert 3 coins not 12 for s/s. Also I guess folks might add an extra dollar instead of a quarter or two for more s/s time

Thanks

I.B. Washincars

Car Washer Emeritus
Reaction score
I have been dispensing them for 13 years and have never regretted it. Everything but the glassfront vending is priced at "round dollar" increments. I would cough up for multi-coins acceptors in those other vacs if it were me. I have yet to see any "cons" from the customer side, only "pros". You are correct that it's much easier to plunk in 3 coins compared to 12 and it happens often that many more than that (10 or more) are dropped in at one time. How often does someone insert 20, 30, or more quarters at once? Answer, never.

The hassle is having to deal with buying them, sorting out the Susan Bs (not many), and sorting them from the other coins. If you are willing to do that, go for it.

chaz

Reaction score