What's new

Compressor Pump Too Hot to Touch

Etowah

Red Baron

Reaction score
My IR compressor is too hot too touch, is that too hot? It is 100 degrees here today, will it help if I plump the air intake into a bay?

I.B. Washincars

Car Washer Emeritus
Reaction score
I would think it should be too hot to touch. I'm no expert, but my compresor guy told me that the air coming out of the pump gets to about 400 degrees. I doubt that the cooling fins could get rid of the heat fast enough to keep it terribly cool.

MEP001

Reaction score
If it's running a lot, like half the time, it's goinf to get hot. Is it hotter now than before you had the problem with it sticking on? The oil may have gotten too hot and is broken down.

DiamondWash

Reaction score
Too Hot to handle Too Cold to hold They called the Ghostbusters and they're in control!!! I had to throw that in there, If your compressor runs alot then yeah it will get extremely hot check to make sure you don't have an air leak somewhere causing the compressor to run unless your washing cars nonstop there should be no reason your compressor would be so hot you cannot touch it. I had that problem once came into the equipment room and the compressor was running and I touched it then said some choice words and found that the air cylinder in the auto bay was leaking fixed the leak and the compressor ran normal compressor cooled down, I also changed the oil due to it running so long.

robtl

central Ky
Reaction score
My IR compressor is too hot too touch, is that too hot? It is 100 degrees here today, will it help if I plump the air intake into a bay?
Which part of the compressor are you talking about? The head , cylinder, and supply pipe to tank will get very hot to touch, this is caused by the term called " Heat of Compression" this heat is what fires the diesel engine where there is no spark, so it get very hot.