What's new

Best Laundry Detergent for carwash&detail

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
I just switched from all-purpose cleaner to Simoniz liquid laundry Detergent. I like it so far. It's about $11 a gallon and uses a cup per load.

My microfiber towels feel better and my terry towels are softer and more absorbent, it seems.

What has everyone else had good/bad luck with for carwash and detail shop towels, rags and applicator pads?

Thanks!

MEP001

Reaction score
That sounds incredibly expensive. Have you tried a regular liquid detergent or did you go straight from a powder to the Simoniz liquid?

I'm not a professional detailer by any means, but for cleaning my own vehicles I use terry towels washed in plain powdered Tide, and they've always come out very absorbent. At $30 for 180 loads, it's a great deal cheaper. Maybe a double scoop of regular stuff would work comparably to the Simoniz.

emwachtel

Reaction score
Wow.. $11.00 per gallon.. Seems way way to expensive. Thats $600 per 55 gallon. He sell a drum of laundry soap for less then 1/2 that. Hope it folds the laundry for that price!!

Whale of a Wash

5 Washes 36Bays 2Vectors
Reaction score
I would try ultra 2x tide, or there is a commercial version called tide heavy duty, or have heard it called Tide lll . Dave- It would be cheaper to wash a load two or three times than to spend that much on soap. Just don't use fabric softeners- They are a derivative of animal fat and coat the towels. That is costing you .69 per load for simoniz.

Last edited:

soapy

Reaction score
The people who sell towels have always told me never to use any detergent on towels. It coats the towels and they do not work as well. I always wash the window towels seperatly and on occasion will use vinegar in the water for the window towels.

Danny

Reaction score