What's new

Anyone have a crimping tool / machine for HP hose?

Car_Wash_Guy

Reaction score
Been thinking about one. Mostly to keep down time to a minimum. I know the assembled hoses will likely cost the same or less, but I like have the means to repair things as quickly as possible.

Do any of you guys own one? What are the good brands to look for?

Thanks

mjwalsh

6 bay SS w/laundromat
Reaction score
One argument for getting our own is our recent experience of no one local .... we could find ... willing to crimp anything but their own specific brand of hose (expensive+). 15 years ago there was not such a "psych out caused by fear of liability"!!! Our mosmatic z booms require the precise length ... not sure if the precut & made hoses car wash suppliers will size to the inches within the total length. The specific mosmatic part number is very costly.

MEP001

Reaction score
I have a hand swage unit for hose repair, but mainly because I've been a professional car wash tech off and on for about 25 years. For everyday operation I just keep lots of spare hoses since the hand unit is not easy to use, and the swage fittings are so pricey that (if I've done the math correctly) they're about three times the cost over ordering hose assemblies from Kleen-Rite. I only use it for replacing overhead high-pressure lines.

2Biz

Thread Killer!
Reaction score
I bought one right after buying the wash and wouldn't own the place without it. Got it off Ebay and saved a lot compared to new. It has about a 2.5" diameter hydraulic cylinder that pumps to 5000psi! I don't stock any hoses since its so easy and fast to make one when needed....I can pull a hose, make a new one, and be back in business in less than an hour. I have so many different length hoses at the wash, how on earth would you be able to stock all the different lengths?? I would think this is necessary equipment every CW owner should have.

Earl Weiss

Reaction score