What's new

Any advice on new purchase, due diligence on Car Wash

Etowah

Lilwarrenb

Reaction score
I will do my best to give all info I have at the moment and looking for any help, opinions from people who have been there done that or had success or failures. I am leaning towards purchasing but still trying to do my due diligence. I'm new to the business and am trying to learn all I can before possibly making a huge mistake. I have normally stuck with rental real estate but recently bought a laundromat and enjoy the change and the challenge of improving it and its income. The Wash is 2 SS bays and 1 IBA and was built new in 2007 so building and everything is in good shape and has good curb appeal, Yet upon entrance and looking closer you can see it is not being ran to its potential. The owner has other businesses and I think it is more labor intensive than he was hoping for and has kind of let it go. Garbage cans broken, Vending mostly empty, mud in bays, 1 vacuum missing from bay and it was sitting in the equipment room. He was showing annual gross sales of $120K in 2015 and 2016 and then $90K in 2017. We did have a couple harsh winters in a row and this winter was abnormally bad and long extended cold periods. He had around $44K in cash flow but he also ran all his personal expenses through the business so I know I can do better than that. It is on a busy 4 lane one way street with easy access in and out and across from a park. The street has average daily traffic of 15,000 cars per day. Asking price is $460K but said he would take $430K. It will be on a 25 year loan at 6% with 25% down although I will only have about $30K of my own cash in as I will be borrowing some of the down payment as well. Also, just for reference, while driving around the other day I ran into 2 car wash owners on another busy street and had the pleasure of talking to them. 1 was the exact same carwash that my sellers sister built at the same exact time in 2007 but has 1 additional SS ba