Another lease purchase thread

Etowah

br549ms

Reaction score
I have an opportunity to take over a lease SS with a Mark 7 IBA
6 bays using mark 7 meters
6 vacs - 3 islands
mark 7 IBA is ready for retirement
equipment room is not bad, but everything is dated (2006)
current operator built the building on leased property in older shopping center
good traffic - probably 8-12k per day
claims revenue of 120k, but doubtful
Asking me for an offer, I have no experience with leases

I do know the lease 30 years has options every 10 years to exit, with second option coming up in 2026, the lease terms are locked through the 30 years, not bad. But the lease holder owes "their part of the property taxes and ins". The current operator has not purchased any new equipment - all dates back to '06. so no value there, building is on leased property so no value there. He is willing to show books from the CPA and past taxes, utiltites, etc...

Being a lease, equipment basically no value and building on the leased property - no value. I am thinking 1 or 2 times the net?

thoughts?

Roz

Reaction score
Leases of car washes are very hard to sell. You need to understand all the expenses (lease expenses, utilities, everything) - ask to see all expenses. Find the free cash flow and discount by 10-20%. Is the left over amount worth your time and risk to assume the lease....

If current lease holder is looking for a payment so you can take over the risk then look closely at the lease (time remaining and schedule for lease increases). If acceptable time remains then it may be worth 1-3x free cash flow.

mac

Reaction score