What's new

VFD's, Blowers and electric bill

Axxlrod

Car Washer
Reaction score
I have VFD's on my blowers at my wash. I have six 15 hp blowers from Sonny's. I have my look back feature on my controller set to look back to my pre-soak arch. This means that my blowers will stay running if another car is in the tunnel at all. Is this defeating the purpose of the VFD's? It seems to me that if the purpose of VFD's is to eliminate the start up spike, then wouldn't it be more effecient to remove the look back feature and have the blowers cycle on and off for every car?

Anybody with electric knowledge have a definitive answer?

Last edited:

dclark3344

Reaction score
I am NO expert and willing encourage any correction. I have also been trying to understand ways to cut my demand charge on my electric bill. What I was told is VFD are mainly to operate the same motor at different speeds. The starting and stopping of any motor is what spikes the demand charge and increases your electic bill. The main thing to save on electicity is to have capacitor start motors which have a little capacitor that jump starts the motors.

MEP001

Reaction score
A VFD is not just to operate a 3-phase motor at different speeds, it's also to "soft-start" the motor. If you're billed based on peak usage, having a 30-hp motor kick on will create as much as a 400-amp peak. Starting the motor with a VF drive can keep it within 50% of its rated operating amperage, thus reducing your bill by reducing those peaks.

dclark3344

Reaction score
MEP001,
I assume that you can not use capacitor start motors with VFDs?????
So how does a capacitor start motor compare to a motor with VFDs in electic usage????? I know that it is not cheap to replace VFDS, I have replace 4 in the past 12 months. Plus the VFDs. require a lot of panel space.

MEP001

Reaction score
dclark3344 said:
I assume that you can not use capacitor start motors with VFDs?????