What's new

Super 5000 troubles

WyoWaterWorks

Reaction score
I'm new to the car wash business only 3 years in, and I'm fighting a Gantry failed to home problem with a DS Super 5000. The wash will run about 4-6 test washes and then stop, flashing (F1 and gantry failed to home message). Things I've done so far listed,
  • traced wiring looking for bare spots and water related issues. (everything looks good)
  • Replaced both gantry home prox sensors. (even thought when it's home they both light up)
  • Replaced the feedback cable on the passenger side. (even though the feed back lights are good on PLC)
The gantry encoder seems to be counting steady, should I replace that now also? Need some helpful suggestions to get back up and running, Thanks in advance.

JGinther

Zip-tie engineer
Reaction score
Watch the encoder count while manually going to bottom exit and bottom entrance. The count should be very close to the same each time at the rail extents and throughout the travel up to home where it should be close to 5000. I'm assuming re-homing the gantry works fine... I suspect the encoder is slipping or failing in some manner.

WyoWaterWorks

Reaction score
yes the re-home works fine and 5000 is the home. I just ran the gantry to complete stops on entry and exit the numbers were only of by 1. I did this 3 times. I had done the re-set to get the gantry and carriage both at 5000, and still have the same issue. Sometimes it just soaps up and then it kicks the vehicle out but the F1 gantry home failure. Other times it'll complete the wash and after the dryer stops the carriage doesn't roll back to home and the F1 gantry home failure. I appreciate your help, any other suggestions would be helpful.

semocarwasher

Reaction score