What's new

Should I Buy This Full Service Wash? What Might I Be Missing?

davidoforlando

Reaction score
Thanks in advance for your insights. I am completely new to this industry but experienced in running business and investing in others. I was approached to be the capital side of a purchase of a Full service wash that shut it's doors in 2019 due to owner health conditions and him running it into the ground after buying it for $1.2M in early 2018. Nearest express or full serve competitor is top dawg car wash which opened a few years ago 2.2mi from this location. It's a 35,000 car street, but with slightly odd ingress and egress. It is surrounded by thriving commercial as it's the primary through fair to a large affluent rural community that is growing in wealthy people as orlando expands. Top Dawg has 8 locations in central fl and appears to be well run. There also appears to be another express wash going up (in site planning) almost across the street from top dawg.

Now that you have the competitive background this location used to be "The" car wash for this area. It's at 70ft tunnel with a 3 year old PECO system that looks to be in pretty good shape on a test run with a good deferred maintenance upgrade of all pneumatic hoses, cloth, one dryer, new chain and several other needed updates. It shut down due to poor management after being purchased for 1.2Mil in 2018. The site also has two detailing bays.

I have zero experience in the wash industry but did my deep dive over the last few days. I can see that the obvious trend is 100ft+ express washes cores with some flex service added in and free vacs. We can't do Vacs at this location due to city restrictions. Which leaves us with either a full service or flex model. The site doesn't currently have a paygate system setup which would be a major upgrade right out of the gate. The partner that brought me this deal hase experience owning a former full service and likes the full service model.