What's new

Self Serve Price Increase

SelfServe

Reaction score
Hey all! I took over a renovated 6 bay SS last December so I’m pretty new to the biz but learning how to fix new things every day. The previous owners had pricing set at .50 cents to start and .50 cents/minute. I’m changing prices (expensive area) and I think I’m nailed down on .75 cents/min but not sure if I should leave it at .50 cents to start or raise start price? What is advantage to a start price of $2 or so vs .50 cents? I could see higher start price causing my “cheap” customers to pay a little more but I really don’t have many people paying less than $2.50 per wash anyways. I do have swipers and I’m at 48% cc/52% coins. Card readers are count up with minimum at $2, I want to raise card minimum to $3.50, and max is at $10, should I raise that as well? I’m excited to be a part of the community and appreciate any input!

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
how do you renovate a wash, spend all that money, and only charge $.50?

My self-serve bays are three dollars to start for three minutes and 15 seconds. I get very few complaints.

You said you are in an expensive area so why not raise it to a two or three dollar start? I think if more operators did this the self-serve car wash business would improve for all of us.

SelfServe

Reaction score
Great advice thank you. That was my thought as well, I think they were nervous to raise prices and lose customers but I get great feedback from my customers and I think most will understand. So in your experience.. Does charging a few dollars up front to start equal out to more revenue than keeping a lower cost to start but charging more per minute? Say if I did 50 cents to start and dollar per minute?

Martins

Reaction score
Raise them prices!