What's new

Purchasing Used car wash vs building from ground up

dkittl20

Reaction score
Newbie here,
been kicking around the idea of getting into the carwash industry in a couple of years and been doing some heavy research latley.

Was wondering about purchasing a used car wash. Does this make any sense? Am I missing somthing... why would anyone want to sell a profitable site? or would the intent be to purchase at a discounted rate, remoldel manage better and hope for new clients? any thoughts on this would be helpful.

Is it easier to get a loan on a used site then building from the ground up?

Thanks for your input, theres alot of great resources here.

Whale of a Wash

5 Washes 36Bays 2Vectors
Reaction score
I'll answer why someone would sell a profitable site. I have been at this for almost 22 years. I have worked 70-90+ hour weeks forever. It easter and after i finish this ,head out the door at 5:30am for a 12-13 hr day. I will stop home for lunch for 1.5 hrs. Visit will relatives and such. I am not complaining at all, but at a certain point you start to feel like you are missing something. But if i sold today, I would wake up before 5a without an alarm with nothing to do. Everyday goes by like a coffee break, so not sure if i could handle that either. Probably have to go in for De-programming. I love my washes, but not all the customers, so you need more than the money to own one, you need the extra energy, and drive. A 40hr week would feel like a vacation. This is why someone would sell a profitable car wash.

mjwalsh

6 bay SS w/laundromat
Reaction score
I have been at this for almost 22 years. I have worked 70-90+ hour weeks forever. It easter and after i finish this ,head out the door at 5:30am for a 12-13 hr day. I will stop home for lunch for 1.5 hrs. Visit will relatives and such. I am not complaining at all, but at a certain point you start to feel like you are missing something.This is why someone would sell a profitable car wash.