What's new

Purchasing first car wash

Sydmax

Reaction score
Friend and I are looking to purchase our first car wash, preferably full service or express. We are not interested in self serve at this time. For a little background, neither of us has car wash experience. My buddy is in corporate finance and has owned a couple of small frozen yogurt places that he sold a few years ago. I have never owned a business before but I work in banking and have actually financed a few car washes in the past.

We've been looking recently and came across a few washes in the area that are up for sale. Our research had shown that the prevailing attitude is that not only do you want to own the business but you also want to own the bricks and ground. We've seen some say that's not necessary and you can find good business only deals. But our focus has largely been on full purchases of business and property.

However, we did come across a business only full service car wash. EBITDA on the surface (we have not seen the full financials) seems to be around the 30% of gross range. Purchase price is significantly less than a land included deals we've looked at. It peaked our interest for a few reasons. One, could there be a benefit to buying a smaller operation first, getting our feet wet and understanding how the business really works and then moving onto a larger operation (our long term goal would be to own 2-3 car washes in the next 5-7 years). Two per the limited info we have the owner has mismanaged the business. No advertising, no promotions, etc. Three, the purchase price is lower than other places we have looked at and gives us a chance to enter the industry with a little less risk than if we took on a larger place with more debt, cash tied up, etc.