What's new

Plans for future car wash.

DixieCarWash

Reaction score
I've posted in the past about building a flex serve car wash.

I feel out of place here being one of the only members who doesn't currently own a wash and won't in the near future (less than 10 years)
I'm trying to get as educated as I can so be patient with me. I'm still learning.

Ok, I've worked at 4 car washes since the age of 17. I'm now 22. I've learned a lot but know running a multi-million dollar business isn't easy and I have no current education in business and very little is mathematics and arithmetic.

Due to certain issues resulting in me being on SSI for the past 5 years I haven't begun to save.

I currently work at a Car Spa location and I'm hopefully going to be taken off of SSI soon, go full time and finally get my 401K started.
So my lack of business knowledge has me confused. I want to go flex serve with oil and state inspections and detailing. I also know this is a 5-8 million dollar operation and I am no where near rich. Is the car wash a rich kid's thing and unless I win the lottery I should forget it? Or are there ways for us poor guys to own the dream car wash?

Once I go full time I need to go to college and take business courses and possibly the car wash college.

From my previous experience working at car washes and getting to know many successful business owners I think I have a comprehensive plan for the future wash drawn out in a notebook.

So I'm thinking about having and "L" shaped building.
6-8 bays for lube and state inspection and possibly other services. A 135' tunnel featuring Sonny's Total Shine or similar. 2 conveyorized detail lanes using the "people mover" belts. But on the side of it wash for express exterior packages having free self serve vacuums on the side.

The auto pay stations will be actual booths like in pay parking lots.

If possible team up with a gas station.